Les crocodiles blancs

fifty-six

Posted in Uncategorized by Clare on 31 December 2009

SOME MUSIC THAT I LISTENED TO IN 2009:

Lolita – Throw Me the Statue
My favorite song from the Urban Outfitters LSTN #1

I’m So Paid – Akon ft. Young Jeezy & Lil Wayne
Driving to the State football game with Andrea, Daniel, Marlene, and Nitesh. We really did go 90 in a 65. Then Andrea almost ran the car into a flatbed truck.
Also got me through a rough few days in Illinois in December

The BQE – Sufjan Stevens
After my brother showed it to me, I couldn’t stop listening.
The piano in Mvmt. 1 especially.

Daylight – Matt & Kim
I listened to this at night time [oddly enough] & walking to school in the morning. Got it from Robert Peng

First Love – Uffie
lol Uffie… I don’t know.

Up, Up, & Away – Kid Cudi
Andrea sang this song all the time after the album came out, and I’d never actually heard it. We were driving back from Garba with Nitesh and when he played it, I thought it was the most wonderful thing I’d ever heard.

[Fljotavik, Glosoli, Inni mer syngur vitleysyngur, Agaetis Byrjun] – Sigur Ros
Daniel and I are getting married when he becomes president of the world so that I can be first lady. And because he’s awesome. He introduced me to Sigur Ros, and one night I looked up the English translation of Agaetis Byrjun. The next day at school I excitedly approached him and said, “Daniel, I have the perfect song to play at our wedding. Well, you know that song Agetis Byrjun by Sigur Ros?” and he finished, “because it means a pretty good start! That’s perfect. We’ll be married forever, Clare.”

Gone – Kanye West
I have memories of walking around the Munster debate tournament listening to this. I was doing Public Forum with Alisa, and I was nervous all day. I like the part where they say, “puff puff pass.”

Itzhak Perlman
I love listening to him play the violin. There were a few days when I stayed in my bedroom and blared Itzhak for hours.

Natalie Portman’s Shaved Head
Shriya and I saw them open for Lily Allen in April at the Riviera in Chicago. Luke was so charming. We invented the fact that he smiled at each of us multiple times. Shaun looked kind of brooding and I was disappointed, but Luke’s adorable factor overwrote any negativity. Liam waved to us. Claire had perfect long hair.

Lily Allen
Is who Shriya and I saw after NPSH. She was a perfect performer. I like It’s Not Me, It’s You quite a bit.

Mushaboom – Feist
By far my favorite song in 2009. It’s perfect. (But I listened to a lot of Feist in general). When I was watching 500 Days of Summer and it started playing.. I had one of those moments of overpowering glee.

[First Day of My Life, Mushaboom,

[Someday, 12:51, Soma] – The Strokes
I’ve liked them since before 2009 I think, but these are a few of my favorite songs by The Strokes and are good for studying.

[Man on the Moon, Soundtrack 2 My Life] – Kid Cudi

The Blueprint 3 – Jay-z
My favorite rapper of all time.

By Your Side – Cocorosie
This song is a bit weird, as are Cocorosie, but I remember listening to it a lot this year.

Green Eyes – Coldplay
Once I had a talk about Coldplay with Nitesh, and how we both always forget how much we love them. Mainly this song and the other oldish stuff.

Chicken Pox – I’m From Barcelona
Nitesh got really upset with me when I was in Michigan and he was at NASA camp this summer, and I felt like my stomach was going to shrivel up and I was going to die.
I listened to this song all day.

December 4th – Jay-z
This song is good for pumping-up, and a bit too good at night because it makes me restless and like I want to jump around.

I Poke Her Face – Kid Cudi
It’s funny, and it reminds me of a time David, Ben, Marlene, and I went to Wendy’s for frosties. Then they drove us by a weird house that they thought was haunted and we laughed at them.

I’m a Flirt – BowWow ft. R. Kelly
I rediscovered this song (& Bow Wow for that matter), and got caught up in it so fast.

You Can Get it All – BowWow
Sean showed this song to me one night while I was doing my homework, and I played the youtube video over & over.

My Boo – Usher
One day, Nitesh & I were driving to lunch, & this came on the radio. We looked at each other and grinned, and then he started singing to me.

I Know – Jay-z
Another favorite by the wonderful man.

Dance Dance Dance – Lykke Li
Shriya & I saw her at Lollapalooza

I Love My Car – Belle & Sebastian
clarinets.

Sincerely Jane – Janelle Monae

Lang – Haruka Nakamura

Every Girl – Young Money

Medication, Pavanorama – Deviations Project

What You Want – The Roots

An Eluardian Instance – Of Montreal

Ready or Not – The Fugees

Air France

Little Garcon – Born Ruffians

I’ve Got Your Number, Sleepyhead – Passion Pit

The Teenagers

Det Snurrar i Min Skalle – Familjen

West Coast – Coconut Records

Black Panther – Crystal Castles

Digital Suicide – Hearts Revolution

Alohamora – Pogo

Mr. Yeah – The Dream

W.A.L.E.D.A.N.C.E. – Wale

I’ll Be in the Sky – B.O.B.

Father & Mother, Pas si Simple, La Dispute – Yann Tiersen

Beirut

911, Sweetest Girl – Wyclef Jean

Music is My Hot Hot Sex – CSS

Open House – Bombay Bicycle Club

On Top of The World, What You Know – T.I.

I Want You to DANCE – ComaR

Ratatat

Young Sensualists – Throw Me The Statue

Little Things – Pomplamoose

Totoro Soundtrack

Lost One – Jay-z
Top candidate for favorite rap song this year

King Without a Crown – Matisyahu

International Affair – Mark Ronson

No Woman No Cry – Bob Marley

The Prayer – Kid Cudi

Fahrenheit Fair Enough – Telefon Tel Aviv

Diamond Dave – The Bird and the Bee

Four Winds – Bright Eyes

We Are Your Friends – Justice vs. Simian

After Hours – The Velvet Underground

Sound in a dark room – Telefon Tel Aviv

Nord – Haruka Nakamura

Parentheses – The Blow

Minor Swing – Django Reinhardt

The Lost Art of Murder – Babyshambles

Artichokes – Maps & Atlases

Fleur de Saison – Emilie Simon

The Love Cats – The Cure

Catherine the Waitress – Teitur

Protons, Neutrons, Electrons – The Cat Empire

Little Bit – Lykke Li

Sheila – Jamie T

Three Little Words – Frankmusik

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. shriya said, on 6 January 2010 at 11:25 AM

    I liked this list.

  2. shriya said, on 6 January 2010 at 11:25 AM

    or I guess, I like it. not past tense.


Leave a Reply

