Les crocodiles blancs

twenty-nine

Posted in Uncategorized by Clare on 1 June 2009

Miuccia Prada is my favorite lady designer. She is thoughtful and adorable, and she trained to be a mime for six years. Excerpts from her interview with CNN and other sources:

“If you compare with philosophy, [fashion] is frivolous, but frivolity may be something good, something that is part of our lives, so I don’t dislike it and what I like is the mix, that in your life you can have serious things, more frivolous ones,”

“Beauty is not something that is contrary; it is the right of everybody. Still I retain the idea of justice and so many other ideas, but that is my work, and it is a contradiction that still is creating me problems, but it’s like this.”

“Basically I think that sometimes [my designs] look strange and not perfect because I don’t like things that are obvious, and so I always try to introduce something that is wrong, something that is different. Just beauty by itself is too easy.”

“Some days I hate the idea that I have to be creative. The obligation of being creative every single day, every single hour of your life is such a nightmare that you would prefer to do anything else in your life but be creative because it’s just . . . you have to answer so many questions,”

“I never understood fashion. The whole world of it – the photographers, the celebrity status. I don’t get it at all. I like clothes. I love clothes. But fashion and fame… Sometimes I just don’t know. It’s fun – it’s wonderful, but it’s something to keep you busy for 10 minutes in the morning. Then you have to face the rest of the day”

She absolutely charms me.

Leave a comment