Les crocodiles blancs

nine

Posted in Uncategorized by Clare on 9 March 2009

Reiiiii Kawakubo is a genius. I’m convinced. I wish I could dress like this always… with the pink gauziness obviously, but also the layered coats and almost rugged-looking outerwewar. I also really love (and I mean LOVE) the capes and such that have the outlines of blazers and pockets drawn onto them.  The tulle & kiss on the faces of the models is also one of my favorite things that Rei has used to complement the collection. Whatever I may say about it, however, Robin Givhan says it best with  his review at the Washington Post, in which the collection is, in my opininon, pretty much summed up in only a few words:

“But the power of this collection was that it didn’t deny the sadness and the pain, it allowed both to coexist with beauty, which is the way it works in this city and so many others. That’s not fashion; that’s simply reality.”

Comme Des Garcons F/W 09

Leave a Reply

